Legal And Protective Services - Grade 10 (Mr. Frampton) - Keefe Regional Technical School - Keefe Tech Library at Keefe Regional Technical School

Assignment

OBJECTIVES

You will learn why databases are awesome when it comes to doing research.

Here are some of the tools in our databases you will learn about in this lesson:

Topic Finder
Bookmarking
Highlights and Notes
Downloading and sending to Google Drive
Citations

Search the Library Catalog!

Online Catalog Sign In Instructions for Students*

Username: flast2020 (your first initial, last name, year of graduation)

Password : 4-digit ID from iPass (hint: your lunch code)

* In order to access websites and databases within Destiny, you must sign in!

Databases Recommended for Your Assignment

Criminal Justice Collection This link opens in a new window
Criminal Justice Collection provides access to academic journals and magazines on topics in criminal justice and related fields. Key subjects covered in the database include law, law enforcement, security, and terrorism.
SUBJECTS COVERED
Law & Legal Studies
Criminal Justice

Global Issues In Context This link opens in a new window
Global Issues In Context offers international viewpoints on a broad spectrum of global issues, topics, and current events. Featured are hundreds of continuously updated issue and country portals that bring together a variety of specially selected, relevant sources for analysis of these issues. Rich multimedia - including podcasts, video, and interactive graphs - enhance each portal. Use Browse Issues and Topics, Country Finder, Basic Search or Advanced Search to explore the database.

War and Terrorism Collection This link opens in a new window
Researchers accessing the more than 1.7 million articles in the War and Terrorism Collection will gain valuable insight into conflicts and their causes, impact, and perception on a global scale. This definitive collection for analysts, risk management professionals, and students of military science, history, and social science is comprised of more than 200 subject-appropriate, full-text periodicals that are updated daily.

Psychology Collection This link opens in a new window
Meeting of the Minds:
Provide access to authoritative periodical content supporting research in all fields of psychology— abnormal, biological, cognitive, comparative, developmental, personality, quantitative, social and all areas of applied psychology. Researchers, psychologists, counselors, and behavioral scientists will discover relevant information from the thoughts, views, discoveries, and reports found in this comprehensive collection.

Military and Intelligence Database This link opens in a new window
Military and Intelligence Database Collection provides access to scholarly journals, magazines, and reports covering all aspects of the past and current state of military affairs. The database offers content in key subject areas including governmental policies, the socioeconomic effects of war, the structure of the armed forces, and more.

Database Bank

A-Z Databases List
- This link opens in a new window
This is a list of all the databases Keefe Technical School subscribes to.

Really Cool Database Tools

The following Gale tools will help you navigate the databases with ease and efficiency:

Topic Finder:

This tool will help you help you analyze search results and create a unique research topic (watch video).

Bookmarking:

The Bookmark tool can be used to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more (watch the video).

Highlights and Notes:

This tool will help you keep track of sources and sections, annotate and organize your information easily (watch video)

Citations:

This tool simplifies the research process by providing one-stop citations within the database (watch the video).

Downloading and sending to Google Drive:

Download results or send documents to your Google Drive for later retrieval (watch the video)

Exit Survey

Thanks for participating in Doing Research with Databases in the library!

Remember, you can always see Mrs. Kane if you have any questions or need help with the databases.

One last important thing: To be marked "done" with this assignment, you will need to complete the EXIT SURVEY. You must be signed into your Google account for your answers to be recorded. Thank you!

Martha Kane, Teacher Librarian

Martha Kane

Email Me

Keefe Regional Technical School: Legal And Protective Services - Grade 10 (Mr. Frampton)