Skip to main content

Keefe Regional Technical School: Legal And Protective Services - Grade 11 (Mr. Broughton)

Assignment

OBJECTIVES

You will learn why databases are awesome when it comes to doing research.

Here are some of the tools in our databases you will learn about in this lesson:

  • Topic Finder
  • Highlights and Notes
  • Downloading and sending to Google Drive
  • Citations

Search the Library Catalog!

 
Online Catalog Sign In Instructions for Students*

 

Username:  flast2020 (your first initial, last name, year of graduation)

 

Password :  4-digit ID from iPass (hint: your lunch code)

 

* In order to access websites and databases within Destiny, you must sign in!

Databases Recommended for Your Assignment

Database Bank

Really Cool Database Tools

The following Gale tools will help you navigate the databases with ease and efficiency:

Topic Finder:

This tool will help you help you analyze search results and create a unique research topic (watch video).

Bookmarking:

The Bookmark tool can be used to create persistent links back to documents, searches, and more (watch the video).

Highlights and Notes:

This tool will help you keep track of sources and sections, annotate and organize your information easily (watch video)

Citations: 

This tool simplifies the research process by providing one-stop citations within the database (watch the video).

Downloading and sending to Google Drive:

Download results or send documents to your Google Drive for later retrieval (watch the video

 

 

Exit Survey

Thanks for participating in Doing Research with Databases in the library!  

Remember, you can always see Mrs. Kane if you have any questions or need help with the databases. 

One last  important thing: To be marked "done" with this assignment, you will need to complete the EXIT SURVEY.  You must be signed into your Google account for your answers to be recorded.  Thank you!

 

 

Martha Kane, Teacher Librarian

Martha Kane's picture
Martha Kane
Contact:
Keefe Tech Library
(508)416-2350

Mon Tue Thr 7:20 - 2:30
Wed 7:20 - 2:05
Fri 7:20 - 2:05pm